Hyundai Ioniq 6 vs Kia EV4 Fastback: range for less, or faster charging
ADAC measured up to 257 km added in 10 minutes for the Ioniq 6, and 358 km in 32 minutes for a 5-door EV4. I'd buy the Kia unless you're on the motorway every month.
By Pavel Ryzhikh, 2 November 2026. Prices checked 2 November 2026.

| Hyundai Ioniq 6 Trend 84 kWh 168 kW RWD | Kia EV4 Fastback Earth 81.4 kWh 150 kW FWD | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | €55,600 | €47,140 |
| Battery | 84 kWh (As stated by Hyundai, usable or gross not specified) | 81.4 kWh (As stated by Kia, usable or gross not specified) |
| WLTP consumption | 13.5 kWh/100 km (On 18-inch wheels, 14.7 on 20-inch) | 14.4 kWh/100 km (On 17-inch wheels, 14.9 on 19-inch) |
| WLTP range | 680 km | 633 km |
| AC charging | 11 kW | 11 kW |
| DC charging peak | 260 kW | 128 kW |
| DC 10 to 80% | 18 min (Hyundai figure at 350 kW) | 31 min (Kia figure) |
| Power | 168 kW | 150 kW |
| Boot | 401 l (Plus 45 l frunk) | 490 l (1,435 l with seats down) |
| Length | 4,925 mm | 4,730 mm |
| Braked towing | 1,500 kg (Up to 12% gradient) | 1,000 kg |
| Drivetrain | Rear-wheel drive | Front-wheel drive |
The whole question comes down to one division. ADAC says the Ioniq 6 adds up to 257 km in 10 minutes on a fast charger. It says a 5-door EV4 with the same 81.4 kWh battery as the Fastback added 358 km in 32 minutes. Per minute, that's about 25.7 km against 11.2 km, though the Hyundai's number covers its best 10 minutes and the Kia's a full 10 to 80% stop. Over that same 10 to 80%, ADAC timed the Hyundai at 18 minutes and the Kia at 32.
Put a hypothetical 300 km of extra motorway onto a trip. By my sum the Hyundai needs 12 to 15 minutes plugged in, the Kia about 27.
Now the bill: €55,600 for the Ioniq 6 and €47,140 for the EV4 Fastback, German list prices checked 2 November 2026. Other countries differ, and offers aren't in those figures. Twelve to fifteen minutes per stop is what the gap buys.
The measurements below are ADAC's and Elektroauto-News's. I haven't driven either car.
What each one is rated for
Rated range favours Hyundai: 680 km at 13.5 kWh/100 km on 18-inch wheels, against 633 km at 14.4 kWh/100 km on 17-inch wheels. The bigger wheels cost each car some range, so check what you're ordering.
ADAC's August 2026 reports are the nearest thing to a like-for-like test, though not on the bodies you'd assume.
- Ioniq 6: ADAC's test car had the same 84 kWh and 168 kW, sold under the Centriq name in its data at the same list price. It used 17.0 kWh/100 km and reached 532 km.
- EV4: ADAC tested the 5-door Earth with this battery under its 2026 procedure, with charging losses included. It used 19.0 kWh/100 km and reached 490 km.
Kia rates the Fastback slightly further than the 5-door, at 633 km against 625 km. So I'd expect a little more than 490 km. ADAC's data sheet for the Fastback says it hasn't run its own test on that body.
Elektroauto-News did try a Fastback in winter. With a very high motorway share it recorded 19.5 kWh/100 km including charging losses, which it translates to a bit over 400 km.
Charging
ADAC measured 265 kW at the Hyundai's peak, against a rated 260 kW, and 18 minutes from 10 to 80%. That's a Hyundai system running at 800 volts, and it matches the maker's 18 min at 350 kW.
The Kia's rated peak is 128 kW and Kia quotes 31 min. ADAC measured a 129 kW peak and 112.9 kW on average. Elektroauto-News calls the curve pleasantly flat, and I wouldn't call it a bad result. It's just not the same class.
At home both take 11 kW. Kia sells a 22 kW charger for €990, which ADAC thinks is worth ordering for public AC posts. On a home wallbox with three-phase supply it could help too, if an electrician confirms your supply allows it.
Boot and rear seats
Kia's boot figure wins, 490 l against 401 l. Nobody I could read has measured the Fastback's, and ADAC got 345 l from the 5-door, so don't set that against the Hyundai. ADAC measured the Hyundai at 405 l, or 760 l with the bench folded. It calls that average for a car 4,925 mm long, and complains about a small opening. Rear headroom is limited too. Elektroauto-News fitted a large pushchair in the Fastback, taken apart.
The Kia is shorter, at 4,730 mm. That's nearly 20 cm less to park.
The small print
Towing splits them: 1,500 kg for the Hyundai and 1,000 kg for the Kia, from their makers' data. I wouldn't put a family caravan behind either.
On Earth trim, Kia puts the heat pump and V2L in its Winter-Connect pack, per its German price list. ADAC's sheet lists the same for the heat pump. If you live anywhere cold, budget for it.
Which one
I'd buy the EV4 Fastback if I charged at home, drove long distances a few times a year, and wanted more boot for less money. I'd buy the Ioniq 6 for regular 600 km days, or for a light trailer. Run both through the running-cost calculator, since the sum will be close and your tariff matters more.
Rated range is a generous number in both cases: WLTP and real range have a known gap. For other long-range choices, see the longest-range cars under €60,000.
Where these numbers came from
- ADAC: Hyundai Ioniq 6 Facelift test, 10 August 2026, read 2 November 2026
- ADAC: Kia EV4 test, 17 August 2026, read 2 November 2026
- ADAC data: Kia EV4 Fastback Earth 81.4 kWh, read 2 November 2026
- Elektroauto-News: Kia EV4 Fastback winter test, read 2 November 2026
- Hyundai Ioniq 6 price list, read 2 November 2026
- Kia EV4 Fastback price list, read 2 November 2026